Jesus is the Vine – His Father is the Husbandman

grafting

“I am THE VINE and you are the branches. Whoever abides in ME and I in him, he bears much fruit.” John 15:5 

There is nothing quite as satisfying as picking fruits and vegetables from a garden. To labor and toil day in and day out, and finally see the literal “fruit of your labor,” well, I find it to be quite enjoyable. It is kind of hard being patient – waiting for that tomato to finally be ripe enough for picking. I wonder if that is how FATHER GOD feels as HE begins to see us blossom as HE intended? Or have we even hung on long enough to HIS vine for fruit to begin to develop?

I think that was my problem for most of my early years as a child of GOD – I just didn’t sit  still and abide long enough….always trying to fall off the branch and roll farther away from the garden than GOD intended. I can’t tell you how many years I’ve wasted or people I’ve hurt by living life – bouncing from one carnal branch to another.

A few years ago, I heard someone teach about engrafting dead branches into living trees to bring them back to life, and I realized GOD was talking to me. It is true that I have been imparted with many spiritual gifts and abilities, but these things do not flow out of themselves. They are attached to the trunk of CHRIST. When I am firmly rooted and grounded in HIM, then my life becomes a fertile branch – bearing much fruit for MY FATHER.

Have you ever found an apple growing

on the ground below,

or hanging from a dead tree branch,

swinging to and fro?

 

Have you ever found a bunch of grapes growing

healthy from the ground,

without no vine, no soil, no branch,

or anything around?

 

The laws of nature won’t allow the fruit

to grow absent from the vine –

just like GOD can’t allow it to grow in me

without taking special time.

 

To allow the fruits to ripen and reach

full maturity –

I must hang on just like the fruit

so HE can produce it within me.

One thought on “Jesus is the Vine – His Father is the Husbandman

Leave a Reply

